Go Back   American Sedan Forum > Main American Sedan Categories > American Sedan Rules

Old 07-17-2008, 04:14 PM
Walther

Default Crankcase Ventilation

I was going to email the CRB, but prior to I wanted a concensus of opinions.

My "issue" (this time) is that the rules disallow any form of aftermarket crankcase evacuation system. I have given this some thought. Let me expand..

It has become clear the the creativity and ingenuity of AS competitors has created engines whose HP far exceeds what I believe to be the spirit and intent of the originally drafted rules. I am not a professional engine builder but was none-the-less impressed at what my engine developed on the dyno given the limitations of the rules. I am certain that many of you national guys, and a lot of regional guys too, have exceeded that (my) output. All that HP with no form of "induced" crankcase ventilation.

As I am sure most of you are aware, spinning these engines beyond 6000 creates increased crankcase pressure. As the engine wears in, the pressure actually increases. This pressure can have several adverse effects on the engine. Despite the counter-productivity of pistons on the exhaust and power strokes fighting against the internal pressure and fouling plugs, this same pressure can push out gaskets, thereby creating oil leaks.

My first thought was the allowance of vacuum pumps, BUT in doing so it would further open the doors for things like low-tension rings, etc, and broaden the gap between those who have greater racing budgets, and those who don't.

So my solution would be a revision to the rules allowing a pan-evac system similar to the one produced by Moroso "See link". This system is relatively cheap and easy to install. The current rule requiring a catch can for breathers would also be addressed, since the minimal amount of oil (if ANY) that escapes through the top of valve cover would be introduced into the exhaust and burned without any noticable, visual exhaust emission.