American Sedan Forum

American Sedan Forum (http://s91730302.onlinehome.us/forums/index.php)
-   American Sedan Technical (http://s91730302.onlinehome.us/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   GT driver switching to A/S (http://s91730302.onlinehome.us/forums/showthread.php?t=534)

Lakeside 08-20-2006 08:25 AM

GT driver switching to A/S

Building a Mustang for A/S,I'm looking for a little help.What heads are now legal? Any suggestions on suspension package,brake package? I've been racing for the past 30+ years and have long since learned not to reinvent the wheel. Any help you guys can give will be greatly appeciated

socalta 08-20-2006 10:09 AM

There might be some cars for sale .. you could pick one of them up.

The best thing to do is download the rules. In there they call out specific parts (heads) that can be used and give you an understanding of what cannot be used. We are now allowed to use 4 piston calipers in the front just not sure if they re-wrote to include any four pot front package or only approved ones. You can call The Brake Man or Precision to see if they have a package for you to run. If you decide to go with Precision you need to go through Ted Johnson for SCCA rates. The Brake Man is logged in as a participant so you can either view the profile for specifics.

jimwheeler 08-20-2006 10:20 AM

The new brake rule will be tuned up this month in fastrack, unless I'm mistaken. I think it will allow any 4 piston, one brake line, caliper. Precision is no longer in the game as such. I believe they are now just manufacturing and not marketing parts. Ted is now working with another company which will not have the delivery problems associated with Precision. You can reach him at his email, racingbrakesolutions@cox.net
There are, indeed, a number of good Mustangs available as a starting point, both here and in Sportscar magazine and on their web site.